Nourishing my Soul and Being with Fear

I’m currently reading:

Scientific Healing Affirmations: Theory and Practice of Concentration by Paramahansa Yogananda

Mindfulness in Plain English by Bhante Henepola Gunaratana

The Joy of Living: Unlocking the Secret and Science of Hapiness by Yongey Mingyur Rinpoche and Eric Swanson

 All of them are great books for calming my mind and nourishing my soul and making me better equipped for life that simply flows without minding how I think it should be. Buddhsim has helped me tremendously throughout my illness making me joyful and peaceful despite the dire circumstances in which I have found myself. I still have lots of fears which are a consequence of past events but Buddhism has taught me to be with them, to accept them without judgement, even without naming them. I’m no longer trying to get rid of fear or to substitute it with some other emotion. Fear is completely natural and as long as I’m aware of it and don’t identify myself with it, it cannot do any harm. So my practice nowadays is that of watching fear. I simply watch it. And after I’ve been watching it for some time, I realize I’m watching emptiness. Fear is just like any other wordly phenomena – empty. Meaning that it doesn’t have a substantial, impermanent nature. And knowing that is comforting and liberating.

This entry was posted in Life is a meditation and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Nourishing my Soul and Being with Fear

  1. Liam says:

    Such a beautiful and honest account. I think we all have many fears but most of them are maliciously hidden in the subconscious, so the only way to go is what you’ve been doing: being with it with love, patience and compassion. Thanks again for sharing. You’re brave.

  2. Sabina says:

    Tanja, sama se zelo veselim tvojega zdravja! Res se še nisem dokopala do tega, kakšno bolezen imaš oz. si imela, a verjamem, da si bo s tvojo voljo uspelo in da boš uresničila svoje sanje! Odšla v Indijo in jo doživela z vsemi iskanimi čari.
    Naslovi knjig so zelo spodbudni, zato ne dvomim o vsebini. Le uživaj v branju!
    Ostani pogumna! Ostani svoja!
    P.s. Ena za sprostitev… A poznaš tisto o strahu otroške slikanice?! “Strahec grdi, ti Bau bau, z mano se ne boš igral, pičim te in rečen”Bu”, pa izgineš brez sledu.”🙂
    Naj ti sije sonce!

  3. Tanja says:

    Hvala,Sabina za vzpodbudne besede. Naj se pozlatijo!!! Rima o strahcu me je pa nasmejala. Kako je luštna!!!! O….. si jo bom kar prepisala in dala nekam na vidno mesto. Hvala ti. Nočko.

Leave a Reply

